Is Lazav all creature types? The question swirls among Magic: The Gathering players whenever this powerful shapeshifter hits the table. Lazav’s unique ability to become a copy of creatures that hit opponent’s graveyards raises interesting questions about its identity, especially when considering creature type interactions. Does Lazav truly embody every possible creature designation? Let’s dive deep into the intricacies of Lazav’s abilities and discover the answer.
Decoding Lazav’s Shapeshifting Secrets
Is Lazav All Creature Types? The straightforward answer is no, Lazav is *not* all creature types simultaneously. Lazav, the Multifarious copies a creature card in an opponent’s graveyard. When Lazav copies a creature, it becomes a *single* type, not all of them. Understanding this distinction is crucial for strategic gameplay and deck building. This is significantly different from cards like “Artificial Evolution”, which would change the creature type without copying. The scope of Lazav’s ability is quite explicit:
- Lazav’s ability targets a specific creature card in a graveyard.
- Lazav copies the *entire* card, including its name, mana cost, types, abilities, power, and toughness.
- This copy effect lasts indefinitely, until Lazav copies another creature, leaves the battlefield, or is otherwise affected by a card effect.
The key takeaway is that Lazav can only be *one* creature type at a time, determined by the creature it is currently copying. It doesn’t inherently possess every creature type in the game. The following table illustrates a scenario:
| Graveyard Creature | Lazav’s Creature Type |
|---|---|
| Grizzly Bears (Creature — Bear) | Bear |
| Snapcaster Mage (Creature — Human Wizard) | Human Wizard |
| Want to fully understand the rules and rulings surrounding Lazav, the Multifarious? Consult the official Gatherer page for the card; it provides a comprehensive overview of its abilities and interactions. |